Association of Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurses
Advancing your practice, your career, and our community.

2016 Scholarship Awards

More than 60 leaders of our profession gathered on November 6, 2016, in Seattle for the Foundation’s Inaugural Event. This event celebrated the contributions of Lois Price Spratlen and looked toward upcoming Foundation activities to invest in the future of psychiatric nursing.

The Foundation Board would like to thank all those who attended and donated, in particular the Mary Mahoney Professional Nurses Organization and the University of Washington School of Nursing.

At the event, two nursing students were awarded $1,000 scholarships for 2016: 

Emma Cyders
is a student in the Masters of Science, Advanced Practice Nursing Immersion program at Seattle University in the Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner track. She was recently accepted into Seattle University’s Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) program.

She is developing a literature review, researching the role of school nurses in addressing the needs of school-aged children exposed to ACEs and toxic stress, into a capstone project for her DNP degree.

Grace Martin
is a Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP) student entering her final two quarters of the program at the University of Washington’s School of Nursing.

Her capstone project involves partnering with Spruce Street Inn, a safe house for runaway youths, and developing a needs assessment that will eventually translate into better support for the staff.

Advancing Our Profession
AAPPN is proud to partner with the Lois Price Spratlen Foundation to provide opportunities to assist our Student Members.
Give Today

Join us in recognizing and supporting dynamic, courageous, and inspired nurse leaders. Your gift helps ensure our vibrant professional community remains strong into the future.

You can donate online or by calling 360-734-3166.

2017 Scholarship

The application deadline for the Lois Price Spratlen scholarships was September 1, 2017. Our scholars for the 2017-2018 academic year will be announced at our 2nd Annual Gala and Luncheon on October 8 at the Washington Park Arboretum.